Jesus Christ Superstar 1973 (10)   Leave a comment

Preotii fac presiuni asupra lui Pilat, singurul care are autoritatea de a aplica pedepse, dar acesta ramane destul de prudent, ordonand doar cateva bice. Multimea, devenita brusc adoratoarea Cezarului , cere imperios crucificarea lui Isus.  Pilat, intelegand interesul religios al chestiunii, tot mai spera sa scoata de la Isus ceva care sa justifice o sentinta mai blanda, dar cand Isus ii desfide puterea pe care o exercita doar aparent din vointa proprie – cedeaza presiunilor si il condamna la moarte.

PILATE

And so the king is once again my guest.
And why is this? Was Herod unimpressed?

CAIAPHAS

We turn to Rome to sentence Nazareth.
We have no law to put a man to death.
We need him crucified.
It’s all you have to do.
We need him crucified.
It’s all you have to do.

PILATE

Talk to me Jesus Christ.
You have been brought here
Manacled, beaten by your own people.
Do you have the first idea why you deserve it?
Listen King of the Jews,
Where is your kingdom?
Look at me. Am I a Jew?

JESUS

I have no kingdom in this world.
I’m through.
There may be a kingdom for me somewhere.
If you only knew.

PILATE

Then you are a king?

JESUS

It’s you that say I am.
I look for truth and find that I get damned.

PILATE

But what is truth?
Is truth a changing law?
We both have truths.
Are mine the same as yours?

MOB

Crucify him! Crucify him!

PILATE

What do you mean?
You’d crucify your king?

MOB

We have no king but Caesar!

PILATE

He’s done no wrong.
No, not the slightest thing.

MOB

We have no king but Caesar!
Crucify him!

PILATE

What is this new respect for Caesar?
‘Till now this has been noticeably lacking.
Who is this Jesus? Why is he different?
You choose Messiahs by the sackfull.

MOB

We need him crucified,
It’s all you have to do.
We need him crucified,
It’s all you have to do.

PILATE

Talk to me, Jesus Christ.
Look at your Jesus Christ.
I’ll agree he’s mad.
Ought to be locked up,
But that is not a reason to destroy him.
He’s a sad little man.
Not a King or God.
Not a thief,
I need a crime!

MOB

Crucify him!

PILATE

Behold a man,
Behold your shattered King.

MOB

We have no King but Caesar.

PILATE

You hypocrites,
You hate us more than him.

MOB

We have no King but Caesar,
Crucify him!

PILATE

I see no reason. I find no evil.
This man is harmless, so why does he upset you?
He’s just misguided, thinks he’s important,
But to keep you vultures happy I shall flog him.

MOB

Crucify him! Crucify him!

(Thirty-nine lashes, Pilate counts)
PILATE

Where are you from Jesus?
What do you want Jesus?
Tell me.
You’ve got to be careful.
You could be dead soon,
Could well be.
Why do you not speak when
I hold your life in my hands?
How can you stay quiet?
I don’t believe you understand.

JESUS

You have nothing in your hands.
Any power you have, comes to you from far beyond.
Everything is fixed, and you can’t change it.

PILATE

You’re a fool Jesus Christ.
How can I help you?

MOB

Pilate, Crucify him!
Remember Caesar.
You have a duty
To keep the peace, so crucify him!
Remember Caesar.
You’ll be demoted.
You’ll be deported. Crucify him!

Remember Caesar.
You have a duty
To keep the peace, so crucify him!
Remember Caesar.
You’ll be demoted.
You’ll be deported. Crucify him!

Remember Caesar.
You have a duty
To keep the peace, so crucify him!
Remember Caesar.
You’ll be demoted.
You’ll be deported. Crucify him!

PILATE

Don’t let me stop your great self-destruction.
Die if you want to, you misguided martyr.
I wash my hands of your demolition.
Die if you want to you innocent puppet!

Surpriza, Iuda apare din nou, si nu poarta haine negre de drac ci albe, de inger. Pesemne care era trimis de sus – dar curios este ca nici acum nu pare convins de originea divina al lui Isus..

VOICE OF JUDAS

Every time I look at you I don’t understand
Why you let the things you did get so out of hand.
You’d have managed better if you’d had it planned.
Why’d you choose such a backward time in such a strange land?
If you’d come today you could have reached a whole nation.
Israel in 4 BC had no mass communication.
Don’t you get me wrong.
I only want to know.

CHOIR

Jesus Christ, Jesus Christ,
Who are you? What have you sacrificed?
Jesus Christ Superstar,
Do you think you’re what they say you are?

VOICE OF JUDAS

Tell me what you think about your friends at the top.
Who’d you think besides yourself’s the pick of the crop?
Buddha, was he where it’s at? Is he where you are?
Could Mohammed move a mountain, or was that just PR?
Did you mean to die like that? Was that a mistake, or
Did you know your messy death would be a record breaker?
Don’t you get me wrong.
I only want to know.

CHOIR

Jesus Christ, Jesus Christ,
Who are you? What have you sacrificed?
Jesus Christ Superstar,
Do you think you’re what they say you are? (Repeat many times)

Lasă un răspuns

