Jesus Christ Superstar 1973 (7)   Leave a comment

A venit si ultima cina pentru cei 12 apostoli, in afara de Iuda – putin stresat de targul pe care-l facuse, ceilalti erau bine dispusi si nu-si faceau griji pentru ziua de maine. Isus ii cearta nitel vis-a-vis de nonsalanta lor, de fapt ei vor deveni apostoli abia dupa executia lui Isus, pana atunci nu erau decat niste simpli oameni cu toate slabiciunile omenesti.. Iuda il vinde, Petru se leapada la prima ocazie de proscris..

Povestea asta cu lepadarea lui Petru imi confirma parerea ca discipolii lui Isus erau foarte putini, in zilele noastre ar fi numiti „sectanti”…

APOSTLES

Look at all my trials and tribulations
Sinking in a gentle pool of wine.
Don’t disturb me now, I can see the answers
‘Till this evening is this morning, life is fine.
Always hoped that I’d be an apostle.
Knew that I would make it if I tried.
Then when we retire, we can write the Gospels,
So they’ll still talk about us when we’ve died.

JESUS

The end…is just a little harder, when brought about by friends.
For all you care, this wine could be my blood.
For all you care, this bread could be my body.
The end! This is my blood you drink.
This is my body you eat.
If you would remember me when you eat and drink.
I must be mad thinking I’ll be remembered.
Yes, I must be out of my head.
Look at your blank faces. My name will mean nothing
Ten minutes after I’m dead.
One of you denies me.
One of you betrays me.

APOSTLES

No! Who would?! Impossible!

JESUS

Peter will deny my in just a few hours.
Three times will deny me,
And that’s not all I see.
One of you here dining,
One of my twelve chosen
Will leave to betray me.

JUDAS

Cut the dramatics!
You know very well who.

JESUS

Why don’t you go do it?

JUDAS

You want me to do it!

JESUS

Hurry, they are waiting.

JUDAS

If you knew why I do it

JESUS

I don’t care why you do it!

JUDAS

To think I admired you.
Well now I despise you.

JESUS

You liar. You Judas.

JUDAS

You want me to do it!
What if I just stayed here
And ruined your ambition.
Christ you deserve it.

JESUS

Hurry, you fool. Hurry and go.
Save me your speeches,
I don’t want to know. Go!

APOSTLES

Look at all my trials and tribulations
Sinking in a gentle pool of wine.
What’s that in the bread? It’s gone to my head,
‘Till this morning is this evening, life is fine.
Always hoped that I’d be an apostle.
Knew that I would make it if I tried.
Then when we retire, we can write the Gospels,
So they’ll all talk about us when we’ve died.

JUDAS

You sad, pathetic man, see where you’ve brought us to,
Our ideals die around us and all because of you.
But the saddest cut of all:
Someone has to turn you in.
Like a common criminal, like a wounded animal.
A jaded mandarin,
A jaded mandarin,
Like a jaded, faded, faded, jaded, jaded mandarin.

JESUS

Get out they’re waiting! Get out!
They’re waiting, Oh, they are waiting for you!

JUDAS

Every time I look at you I don’t understand
Why you let the things you did get so out of hand.
You’d have managed better if you had it planned…
Oh….

APOSTLES

Always hoped that I’d be an apostle.
Knew that I would make it if I tried.
Then when we retire, we can write the Gospels,
So they’ll still talk about us when we’ve died.

JESUS

Will no one stay awake with me?
Peter, John, James?
Will none of you wait with me?
Peter, John, James ?

Partea asta imi place cel mai mult (mie, necredinciosul 🙂 ), Isus are indoieli omenesti privind misiunea sa si se gandeste care va fi recompensa sa (la fel de mercantil gandesc mai toti credinciosii, spera ca fac o afacere buna si vor fi recompensati post-mortem pentru credinta) – o vreme a fost purtat de inspiratie si entuziasm, dar acum era deja satul de cele lumesti !

JESUS

I only want to say,
If there is a way,
Take this cup away from me
For I don’t want to taste its poison.
Feel it burn me,
I have changed.
I’m not as sure, as when we started.

Then, I was inspired.
Now, I’m sad and tired.
Listen, surely I’ve exceeded expectations,
Tried for three years, seems like thirty.
Could you ask as much from any other man?

But if  I die,
See the saga through and do the things you ask of me,
Let them hate me, hit me, hurt me, nail me to their tree.
I’d want to know, I’d want to know, My God,
I’d want to know, I’d want to know, My God,
Want to see, I’d want to see, My God,
Want to see, I’d want to see, My God,
Why I should die.
Would I be more noticed than I ever was before?
Would the things I’ve said and done matter any more?
I’d have to know, I’d have to know, my Lord,
Have to know, I’d have to know, my Lord,
Have to see, I’d have to see, my Lord,
Have to see, I’d have to see, my Lord,
If I die what will be my reward?
If I die what will be my reward?
Have to know, I’d have to know, my Lord,
I’d have to know, I’d have to know, my Lord,
Why should I die? Oh why should I die?
Can you show me now that I would not be killed in vain?
Show me just a little of your omnipresent brain.
Show me there’s a reason for your wanting me to die.
You’re far to keen and where and how, but not so hot on why.
Alright, I’ll die!
Just watch me die!
See how I die!

Then I was inspired.
Now, I’m sad and tired.
After all, I’ve tried for three years, seems like ninety.
Why then am I scared to finish what I started,
What you started – I didn’t start it.
God, thy will is hard,
But you hold every card.
I will drink your cup of poison.
Nail me to your cross and break me,
Bleed me, beat me,
Kill me.
Take me, now!
Before I change my mind.

Lasă un răspuns

